Kansas Masonic Scholarships

Kansas Masonic Scholarships

In 2013, the Kansas Masonic Foundation Board of Trustees voted to award almost $250,000, annually, to college students and residents.  Going forward, the KMF will offer three scholarships:

General Scholarship

The General Scholarship is available to all Kansas residents who elect to attend one of the seven identified 4 Year Universities:


Emporia State University
Fort Hays State University
Kansas State University
Pittsburg State University
University of Kansas
Washburn University
Wichita State University

OR, one of the 2 Year in-state Technical or Community Colleges in Kansas:


Allen Community College
Barton Community College
Butler Community College
Cloud County Community College
Coffeyville Community College
Colby Community College
Cowley Community College
Dodge City Community College
Flint Hills Technical College
Fort Scott Community College
Garden City Community College
Highland Community College
Hutchinson Community College
Independence Community College
Johnson County Community College
Kansas City Community College
Labette Community College
Manhattan Area Technical College
Neosho Community College
North Central Kansas Technical College
Northwest Kansas Technical College
Pratt County Community College
Salina Area Technical College
Seward County Community College
Washburn Institute of Technology
Wichita Area Technical College

Legacy Scholarship ($1,000)

The Legacy Scholarship is available, as the name suggests, to the legacy of a Kansas Mason.  The student must be one of the following to be eligible:

  • A Kansas Mason
  • Son or Daughter of a Kansas Mason
  • Member of DeMolay International for at least 2 years
  • Member of International Order of Rainbow Girls for at least 2 years
  • Member of Job’s Daughter International for at least 2 years

If you are not the Son or Daughter of a Kansas Mason but you are a Legacy of a Grandfather, Great Grandfather, etc. of a Kansas Mason you would apply for the General Scholarship.

Cynthia Ruth Russell Scholarship (Up to $5,000 depending on number of applicants)

The Cynthia Ruth Russell Scholarship is available to all Kansas residents who have a medically approved disability according to the World Health Organization.


Applications will now be accepted from December 1st through March 15th.  A link to the online application website will be added just prior to the opening date.

You MUST reapply each year to be eligible for a scholarship.



Kansas Masonic Essay Contest

Each year, the Masonic Public School Essay Contest donates $12,000 to deserving high school students. $4,000 is awarded for the best essay.

2017 Essay Contest Question:
Kansas Masons have served Kansans and Kansas communities since 1856.  In 2016, six new partnerships were initiated to enhance the lives of our citizens:

  • Kansas Masonic Adult Speech, Language and Hearing Services Partnership
  • Kansas Mason Pride Communities of Excellence Partnership
  • Kansas Masonic Entrepreneurship Challenge Partnership
  • Kansas Masonic Literacy Center Partnership
  • Kansas Masonic Cancer Alliance Partnership
  • Kansas Masonic Military Affairs Partnership

Select one of these programs and explain how it benefits you and/or your community.





Lodge Fundraising Raffle
1968 Chevy Camaro

Drawing to be held at Hyatt Regency Wichita
Thursday, March 19, 2020 at 5:00pm

Click here to purchase tickets