Enter To Win a 1942 Packard One-Twenty

The Kansas Masonic Foundation Classic Car Raffle is now open. Purchase tickets for your chance to win a 1942 Packard One-Twenty Convertible Coupe!

EducationEmporia Masonic Lodge and Miriam Chapter No. 14, OES Conduct Awards Ceremony and Banquet

June 20, 2022, Emporia, Kansas – Emporia Masonic Lodge No. 12, A.F. & A.M. and Miriam Chapter No. 14, Order of the Eastern Star, hosted their 2022 awards ceremony and banquet on Friday evening, June 17, 2022 at the Masonic temple at 424 Merchant Street in Emporia. Nearly 90 persons were in attendance for the event. The banquet was catered by the Olpe Chicken House.

Emporia Lodge and Miriam Chapter sponsored 13 area students to attend Kansas Masonic All-State High School Marching Band Camp, held at the site of the annual Kansas Shrine Bowl All-Star Football Game. The 2022 Camp will be July 19-23 in Pittsburg, Kansas.

Additionally, the organizations awarded 16 students cash scholarships to attend community and technical colleges and universities for the 2022-2023 school year. Scholarships totaled $17,000. Two students also received $100 scholarships for winning the Kansas Masonic Essay Contest at their high schools in 2021.

Emporian Howard Gunkel was recognized for his 36-plus years of service as chair of Emporia Lodge No. 12’s Board of Trustees.

Most Worshipful Michael D. Johnson, II, Grand Master of Masons in Kansas, presented service emblems to two Emporia Lodge members in attendance. James E. Brooks of Spring Hill, KS, received his 25-year certificate and pin, and Emporian Gary Watts was recognized for his 50 years of service. Masonic widows in attendance were also acknowledged during the ceremony.

The evening concluded with a cake and ice cream reception.

Award Recipients

  • Essay Contest Winners

    • Kiernan Breshears, Hartford High School
    • Baylee Richard, Olpe High School
  • Miriam Chapter OES Academic Scholarship Recipients

    • Anna Chapman, Emporia State University
    • Megan Gordon, Kansas State University
    • Ella Kirk, Emporia State University
    • Kate Rees, Washburn University
  • Emporia Lodge Academic Scholarship Recipients

    • Jayden Birk, Kansas State University
    • Cale Chapman, Pittsburg State University
    • Maddie Dold, Butler Community College
    • Mariah Holt, Emporia State University
    • Isaac Jones, Flint Hills Technical College
    • Hannah Magathan, University of Kansas
    • Faith Miller, Kansas State University
    • Kate Rees, Washburn University
    • Leanna Rust, Emporia State University
    • Olivia Pimpl, Johnson County Community College
    • Kadyne Ross, Grand Canyon University
    • Zachary Younie, Emporia State University
  • Kansas Masonic All-State High School Marching Band Scholarships

    • Ian Anderson, Emporia High School
    • Laura Baldwin, Emporia High School
    • Noah Coltrane, Emporia High School
    • Cody Garriott, Emporia High School
    • Ethan Lawrence, Emporia High School
    • Morgan Liggett, Emporia High School
    • Damien Livingston, Emporia High School
    • Trinity Mason, Emporia High School
    • Jovan Ruiz., Emporia High School
    • Eduardo Torres, Emporia High School
    • McKinsey West, Emporia High School
    • Daisy Worthy, Emporia High School
    • Scott Wyatt, Chanute High School

Service Emblem Recipients

  • 70 Years

    Wayne F. Payton

  • 60 Years

    Robert A. Duggan

  • 50 Years

    Gary E. Watts

  • 25 Years

    James E. Brooks
    Kim E. Crofoot
    Michael G. Patton
    Daniel A. Uren
    Scott W. Williams

Related Articles

Scholarship Recipients Education
Kansas Masons Award 212 Scholarships Statewide
Anchor Lodge No. 224 Education
Anchor Lodge No. 224 Donates $600 to Waverly High School

Support the Foundation

Help to expand Masonic philanthropy within our state by donating to the Kansas Masonic Foundation.